BBC closes standard definition channels on satellite

The BBC has confirmed the closure of 11 standard definition channels broadcast on satellite in the UK from the 28 degrees East satellite neighbourhood.

The change took place in the early hours of Monday 8 January with the affected channels replaced by a ‘channel closed’ message. The caption will remain on-screen until late March when the channels will be removed from the EPG.

Channels affected are BBC One SD; BBC Two SD; BBC Three SD; BBC Four SD; CBBC SD; CBeebies SD; BBC News SD; BBC Scotland SD; BBC ALBA SD; BBC Parliament SD and Red Button 1 SD.

What happens now?

All you will need to do, is purchase a new HD (High Definition) in order to continue viewing these channel in full High Definition.

Please see the links below to our large stock of HD Satellite Receivers: